Dominican Republic assumes chairmanship of the Permanent Council of the OAS

Photo: OAS

WASHINGTON, USA – The Permanent Representative of the Dominican Republic to the Organization of American States (OAS), Josué Fiallo, assumed the chairmanship of the OAS Permanent Council until December 31, 2021.

The new chair of the Permanent Council highlighted his country’s commitment to the values of the Inter-American system. “We assume this task with great responsibility, commitment and humility, under the principles of international solidarity, strict adherence to human rights, the promotion of the values of democracy, the defense of our national interests and the promotion of peace, justice and a healthy environment,” said ambassador Fiallo.

The outgoing chair and Permanent Representative of Peru, Harold Forsyth, highlighted the work carried out during his term at the helm of the Permanent Council: “I am pleased that we exercised the chairmanship of the Permanent Council with forward-looking spirit and dignity, and this was possible thanks to the support of all the Member States and the general secretariat,” said ambassador Forsyth.

The Permanent Representative of Trinidad and Tobago, Anthony Phillips-Spencer, will serve as vice chair of the Council during the last quarter of the year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here