Saunders crosses the floor, premier announces cabinet reshuffled

Former Deputy Premier Chris Saunders. [Photo: GIS]

GRAND CAYMAN, Cayman Islands – Premier Wayne Panton announced several changes to the ministers of cabinet in order to create better synergies and improve delivery of results in the PACT government’s stated priority areas, says a press release attributed to Mina Whorms.

“Over the past weeks, the premier has been carefully evaluating the PACT government’s performance over the first two years. During that time, the country emerged from COVID-19 restrictions, its borders were fully and safely reopened and the economy has not only recovered, it has equalled or surpassed pre-pandemic levels of activity.

Under the new ministerial arrangements, Christopher Saunders, MP, will no longer serve in cabinet and premier Wayne Panton will take on the additional responsibility for the ministry of finance and economic development. The Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, has been appointed as deputy premier and will retain her two current ministries of education and district administration and lands. 

“Further, Dwayne Seymour will become cabinet minister for the ministry of border control and labour and relinquishes his roles as deputy speaker of parliament 
and parliamentary secretary.”

The premier’s announcement includes moving the responsibility for public transport to minister Jay Ebanks, who already has the National Roads Authority and responsibility for traffic management. Consolidating all traffic-related matters under the ministry of planning, agriculture, housing and infrastructure will allow that ministry to bring forth comprehensive solutions to deal with traffic issues. Minister Kenneth Bryan retains responsibility for tourism and ports. All other ministerial assignments will remain the same.

“I wish to thank Saunders for his service and contributions to the government. I am looking forward to the results that Minister Jay Ebanks and his ministry will deliver particularly in addressing current traffic issues now that all traffic-related functions are consolidated under a single ministry,” said premier Panton. “Minister Dwayne Seymour will take on border control and labour where, as an experienced minister, he will be able to accelerate some of the work already underway and in short order bring forward recommendations on the minimum wage and changes to the immigration points system for permanent residency.

“Finally, I have full confidence that deputy premier Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, an accomplished minister and former premier herself, will provide exemplary leadership in the role of deputy premier,” concluded premier Panton.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here