St Kitts – Nevis assumes chair of the OAS Permanent Council

Ambassador Warren Everson Alarick Hull [Photo: OEA]

USA / ST KITTS – NEVIS – The Permanent Representative of Saint Kitts and Nevis to the Organization of American States (OAS), Warren Everson Alarick Hull, assumed the chair of the Permanent Council of the Organization until March 31, 2022.

During the ceremony, the new chair of the Permanent Council emphasized that he assumes the responsibility in a challenging context for the region.

“The OAS and its member states are at a crossroads: the ongoing pandemic has presented an additional challenge to the region’s resilience,” he said. “As a family of nations under one umbrella, it serves no useful purpose to hide our frailties. I believe it is of paramount importance that we confront our challenges together,” ambassador Hull concluded.

Meanwhile, the outgoing chair and Permanent Representative of the Dominican Republic, Josué Fiallo, thanked all the OAS member states “for their constant support” and for “the collective effort demonstrated to jointly build a work plan for the quarter that has just concluded.” He also noted that “this year begins with great challenges” and offered the support and willingness of his country “to work decisively in the direction that the Organization determines under your leadership.”

The Permanent Representative of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Lou-Anne Gaylene Gilchrist, will serve as vice chair of the Council during the first quarter of 2022.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here